Days of Palestine

32 Years Since Al-Aqsa Mosque First Massacre

Af.M | DOP -

Today 8 October 2022 marked the 32nd anniversary of the first massacre of Al-Aqsa Mosque when Israeli occupation forces opened fire directly toward the Palestinians at Al-Aqsa Mosque courtyards and claimed the lives of 21 Palestinians. 

On Monday, 8 October 1990 colonial Israeli settlers of the so-called “Temple Mount” group tried to lay the foundation stone for the alleged Third Temple in the blessed Al-Aqsa Mosque. Thousands of Palestinian worshipers stood up to defend Alaqsa mosque and confronted the settlers.

Israeli occupation forces intervened and opened fire indiscriminately toward the Palestinian worshipers in Al-Aqsa Mosque mosque, murdering 21 Palestinians, injuring more than 200 others, and arresting about 270 others.

Half an hour before the Israeli massacre, Israeli occupation troops set up military checkpoints on all roads leading to Al-Aqsa Mosque to prevent Palestinian worshipers from reaching the site whereas the worshipers had gathered in the mosque hours before that time in response to the calls made from inside the mosque.

Israeli military soldiers deployed in Al-Aqsa Mosque courtyards and prevented the medical crews’ evacuation of the Palestinian bodies until six hours after the start of the massacre.

A few days before the massacre, the Israeli occupation called on the colonial Israeli settlers to participate in a rally at Al-Aqsa Mosque. This was followed by a statement by the extremist Israeli settler Gershon Salmon in which he said:

“The Jews must renew their deep relations with the holy region

The 21 Palestinians massacred by Israeli occupation forces in October 1990 

Burhan El-Din Abdel-Rahman Kashour 19

Ayman Mohi El-Din Ali Al-Shami 18

Ibrahim Muhammad Ali Farhat Idkidik 16

Ibrahim Abdel-Qader Ibrahim Ghorab 31

Izz El-Din Jihad Al-Yasini 15 

Majdi Abed Abu Sneina 17 

Maryam Hussein Zahran Khatib 52 

Fawzi Saeed Ismail al-sheik 63 

Nimr Ibrahim Al-Dweik 24

Rebhi Hussein Al-Amouri Al-Rajbi 61 

Muhammad Aref Yassin Abu Sneina 30 

Fayez Hussein Hosni Abu Sneina 18 

Majdi Nazmi Misbah Abu Sobeih 17 

Abdul Karim Muhammad Warad Zaatreh 40

Jado Muhammad Rajeh Zahida 24 

 Musa Abdulhadi Murshid Al-Suwaiti 27 

Salim Ahmed Badri Al-Khalidi 24 

 Adnan Khalaf Shteiwi Janadi 28 

Naglaa Saad Al-Din Siam 70 

Youssef Abu Sunina 

Abd Muhammad Miqdad